How to Choose the Right AI Visibility Tool for Enterprise GEO Programmes
How to choose an AI visibility tool: seven buying criteria, 12 options compared on price, engine coverage and access control, reviewed September 23, 2026.
Quick answer
Canlah AI recommends choosing an AI visibility tool on seven criteria in this comparison: engine coverage, sampling depth, evidence export, billing unit, access control, execution and a written failure condition. Across the 11 platforms reviewed on September 23, 2026, published self-serve prices run from US$29 per month for Otterly.ai Lite to US$999 per month for Goodie Pro. Single sign-on sits on custom-priced Enterprise tiers at Profound, Scrunch AI and AthenaHQ; Peec AI lists it on a pricing page without a public price.
Canlah AI ranks first in this comparison for enterprise GEO programmes that need a locked buyer-query pool, an inspectable evidence archive and a team that implements the fixes, because it sells measurement and delivery as one managed engagement, with a raw-answer archive the buyer can re-run. Otterly.ai is the cheapest way to start a panel at US$29 for 15 prompts. Profound is the clearest fit for a security review, because its Enterprise tier states SSO/SAML and SOC 2 compliance. Evertune Pro buys the deepest sampling at US$800 for 100,000 prompts across 11 models.
Treat any tool comparison as directional, because no vendor listed here controls engine output. Freeze your buyer questions before the first demo and ask every vendor to run that panel, because comparable evidence settles a procurement argument that a feature grid cannot.
Disclosure: Canlah AI publishes this guide and sells the managed SEO and GEO service compared against the tools below. Tool details come from public pricing, product and help-centre pages reviewed on September 23, 2026, and were not verified through paid accounts or private demonstrations. Readers should confirm engine coverage, security controls and commercial terms directly with each vendor.
What does an AI visibility tool actually measure?
An AI visibility tool measures six separate signals: mention rate, citation, position, sentiment and accuracy, source graph and sampling depth. The same buyer question returns different brands and sources by engine, language, location, account state and hour, so a tool is only as useful as the conditions it records alongside each number.
- Mention rate: How often the engine names the brand across a defined panel, as a frequency rather than a yes or no.
- Citation: Whether the answer links to the brand’s domain, a third-party page, a competitor or no visible source.
- Position: Whether the brand is the main recommendation, one entry in a shortlist or a passing reference.
- Sentiment and accuracy: Whether the description of the company, product and price is correct.
- Source graph: Which domains the engine retrieved from, so a fix targets the page that produced the answer.
- Sampling depth: How many runs per question per engine sit behind every figure on the dashboard.
Seven buying criteria for an AI visibility tool
Seven criteria decide an AI visibility tool selection under this method: engine coverage, sampling depth, evidence export, billing unit, access control, execution and a written failure condition. Record each one during the trial, not during the pitch.
Seven buying criteria, what to record and the decision each one supports.
| Criterion | What to record during the trial | Decision it supports |
|---|---|---|
| Engine coverage | The engines included at the quoted tier and the ones billed as add-ons | Whether the quote covers the markets your buyers research in |
| Sampling depth | Runs per question per engine and the refresh cadence | Whether a movement in the score is signal or variance |
| Evidence export | Whether raw answers, cited URLs and timestamps export in a machine-readable file | Whether a finding survives a challenge from your own SEO team |
| Billing unit | Prompt, seat or credit plus what one unit consumes per engine | The renewal price once the panel reaches its real size |
| Access control | SSO, SAML or OIDC, role-based access and the tier they sit on | Whether the tool clears an enterprise security review |
| Execution | Whether the vendor implements fixes or only reports gaps | Whether you also need an agency or in-house capacity |
| Failure condition | The written statement of what counts as the programme not working | Whether the renewal conversation has an objective basis |
Framework: Canlah AI editorial buying criteria, compiled September 23, 2026 from the 11 vendor pages listed under Method and sources. The criteria are unweighted and should be ranked against your own requirements.
Twelve AI visibility options compared on enterprise buying criteria
Published self-serve prices across the 11 AI visibility platforms in this comparison span US$29 to US$999 per month on September 23, 2026, and three of them place single sign-on on a custom-priced Enterprise tier. Canlah AI is listed as the managed-service alternative.
Canlah AI and 11 AI visibility platforms compared on entry price, billing unit and enterprise controls, reviewed September 23, 2026.
| Tool | Best fit | Entry price and billing unit | Enterprise access controls | Main point to verify |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Canlah AI | Programmes needing measurement and execution from one team | GEO service from $1,500 a month per AI platform; free AI visibility report within 48 hours; DeepAudit $99 (One read) or $189 (Month read), creditable toward the agency service | Not offered; no SSO or API on its own pages | Which tier covers the AI platforms and buyer questions you need (4, 8 or 16); Full is a customised plan |
| Profound | Security-reviewed enterprise rollouts | Trial free, 50 prompts daily for seven days; Enterprise custom | SSO/SAML and SOC 2 on Enterprise; unlimited seats on both plans | Trial prompt set is vendor-defined; custom prompts are listed on Enterprise only |
| Scrunch AI | Multi-brand teams needing site audits beside monitoring | Core US$250 for 125 unique prompts, five user licences | SSO with SAML and OIDC, API access on Enterprise | Core lists four LLMs and places the Query API on Enterprise |
| AthenaHQ | Credit-metered programmes with a variable panel | Free 300 credits on US$25 of credit; Starter US$295 for 3,600 credits | SAML SSO, unlimited seats and role-based access on Enterprise | One credit equals one AI response; API access is a paid Starter add-on |
| Peec AI | Agencies running many client projects | Starter, 50 prompts across three models; plan prices render in-app | SSO and API access listed on the pricing page | Plan prices not stated on reviewed page |
| Otterly.ai | The cheapest defensible starting panel | Lite US$29 for 15 prompts; Standard US$189 for 100 prompts | Unlimited seats; SSO not stated on reviewed page | Gemini, Google AI Mode and Claude are priced as add-ons |
| Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit | Teams already running Semrush for SEO | US$99 add-on for 25 prompts; Starter bundle US$199 for 50 daily prompts | Seat-based; US$99 per extra licence | Extra licence, extra domain and extra prompts each bill separately |
| Ahrefs Brand Radar | SEO teams extending an existing licence | Prompt package US$50 for 2,500 checks; Advanced US$449 with 20 tracked AI prompts | Seat-based at US$40 to US$100 per user | Claude consumes eight checks per update, so the check budget is not linear |
| Rankscale | Panels where engine count varies by question | Pro US$99 for 1,200 credits; Enterprise US$780 for 12,000 credits | Unlimited seats | Credit burn scales with the number of engines queried per prompt |
| Goodie | Agencies pitching new business | Core US$399 for 120 prompts; Pro US$999 for 250 | Five seats on Core, unlimited on Pro | Agency Growth buys pitch workspaces, not prompts |
| Evertune | Statistically deep category benchmarking | Pro US$800 for 100,000 prompts across 11 models | Seats not stated on reviewed page | Pro bundles 25 articles a month, so it is not a pure tracker |
| LLMrefs | Single-plan simplicity at low cost | All in One US$79 for 500 prompts | Unlimited seats | One plan only, so overage rules matter more than tiers |
Source: vendor pricing, product and help-centre pages reviewed September 23, 2026. “Not stated on reviewed page” means the vendor’s public page did not name that detail when it was retrieved on that date. It is not proof that the capability is absent.
Enterprise GEO platform buying guide: seven contract questions
An enterprise GEO platform buying guide adds seven contract questions to the trial criteria above, and five of them concern identity, data and renewal terms rather than features. Put them in the request for proposal so every shortlisted vendor answers the same list in writing.
- Which identity providers single sign-on supports, the tier it sits on and what a deprovisioned employee retains.
- Which security attestation the vendor will share under NDA, for example a SOC 2 Type II report with the date of its last audit.
- Where raw answers and cited URLs are stored and how long they are retained after cancellation.
- Whether the API exports per-run answers with timestamps or only aggregated scores.
- Which engines are contractually included at the quoted tier and how much notice precedes a change to that list.
- The renewal price cap and the notice period for cancelling.
- What the vendor accepts as failure, in writing, at a named review date.
How to run an AI visibility tool evaluation in two weeks
A two-week evaluation is enough to separate three shortlisted tools if the panel is frozen before the first demo. The six steps below produce comparable evidence rather than three vendor narratives.
Step 1: Freeze the buyer question panel before the first demo
Write 15 to 25 questions a buyer who has never heard of the company would type, keeping the brand name out of most. Branded questions inflate every score and prove nothing about discovery.
Step 2: Ask each vendor to run your panel, not their demo set
Require the same frozen panel, market and language from every shortlisted tool. Record which vendors decline.
Step 3: Export the raw answers on day one of the trial
Ask for a file containing the prompt, engine, language, timestamp, complete answer and cited URLs. A tool that exports charts but not answers cannot settle a disagreement with your SEO team six months later.
Step 4: Price the renewal, not the entry plan
Multiply the real panel size by the engines you need and check the add-on list. Moving from 15 to 100 tracked prompts costs US$160 more per month on Otterly.ai, and Semrush sells 50 extra prompts for US$60 per month on top of its US$99 toolkit.
Step 5: Send the security questionnaire before the commercial call
If SSO, role-based access or an API are requirements, confirm the tier they sit on in writing. Three of the platforms reviewed place single sign-on on a custom-priced Enterprise tier, and Peec AI lists it without a public price.
Step 6: Write the failure condition into the contract
Name the metric, the engine, the review date and what happens if the number does not move. A vendor that cannot write down failure has not agreed to be measured.
How to interpret five common evaluation results
Five results come up in most AI visibility tool evaluations, and each has one check that separates a real finding from an artefact of the instrument.
Two tools disagree on the same question: This is normal and is not evidence that one of them is broken. In a seven-engine test run by Canlah AI in August 2026, the same question produced an average source-set overlap of 0.091 in English and 0.171 in Chinese between engines, so two instruments sampling different engines at different moments will diverge. Compare the raw answers and the run counts before treating either number as wrong.
The score moved but the answers did not: Check whether the vendor changed its scoring formula, engine mix or sampling cadence during the period. A composite score that cannot be decomposed into per-engine frequencies is not auditable.
Coverage looks complete but the market does not: Most platforms in this comparison document Western engines. Buyers selling into Greater China or the wider region should confirm that DeepSeek, Qwen and Doubao are covered at the quoted tier rather than assume a long model list includes them.
The trial looks cheap and the renewal does not: Otterly.ai Lite covers 15 prompts, while a two-market panel of 25 questions per market needs 50. Reprice every quote at full panel size, with add-on engines enabled, before comparing vendors.
The tool measures well and nothing changes: Measurement is not execution. If no team owns the site, content and off-site work the dashboard prioritises, the second subscription year reports the same gaps as the first.
Where Canlah AI fits, and where it does not
Canlah AI is a Singapore-based SEO + GEO agency that measures and improves brand visibility inside ChatGPT, Gemini, Google AI Overviews and Google AI Mode, reporting AI visibility as re-verifiable ranges with timestamped evidence. Its GEO service is priced per AI platform: Starter from $1,500 a month (ChatGPT, 4 buyer questions), Growth from $3,000 a month (adds Google AI Overviews, 8 buyer questions) and Full customised (adds Google AI Mode and Gemini, 16 buyer questions). An engagement opens with a free AI visibility report within 48 hours; DeepAudit costs $99 for One read or $189 for Month read, and the fee can be credited toward the agency service (not toward Canlah All-Stars).
The September 7, 2026 self-audit of canlah.ai shows what that evidence looks like when the result is poor. On unbranded buyer questions, OpenAI named Canlah AI in 0 of 12 category answers, 3 of 20 main-shortlist answers and 4 of 18 niche-shortlist answers; Gemini named it in none. The domains cited most often instead were aistudio.com.sg with 91 citations, mediaplus.com.sg with 85 and stridec.com with 78. The run was planned as five layers and 180 probes and was executed as six layers, 39 questions and 234 probes; the Google AI Overviews leg completed 11 of 12 planned samples before its quota ran out.
The limitation is the one an enterprise procurement team will raise first. Canlah AI runs the work as a managed service, and only after three months of the GEO service can clients run the work themselves with Canlah All-Stars. It has no SOC 2 attestation to submit with a security questionnaire, and its pages publish no SSO, role-based access or API. An organisation whose requirement is a tool that 40 marketers log into should buy one of the platforms above. Canlah AI is the stronger choice when the requirement is a measured programme with an owner, and the weaker choice when the requirement is software.
What an AI visibility tool cannot prove
An AI visibility tool cannot prove four things, however clean its dashboard: causation, future recommendations, signed-in consumer answers and factual accuracy.
- It cannot prove that a content change caused an answer to change, because pages, competitor publishing and model updates move at once.
- It cannot guarantee future mentions, citations or recommendations after an engine or index update.
- It cannot reproduce a signed-in consumer session when it measures through an API, so API evidence and consumer-interface evidence should be compared, not merged.
- It cannot replace factual review or compliance approval.
When to move from a tool to a managed programme
A managed programme is justified when the measurement is already trustworthy and nothing is being fixed, and four triggers mark that point.
- The panel covers several markets or languages.
- Inaccurate AI answers create regulatory or reputational risk.
- More than one team publishes facts that must stay consistent.
- The dashboard has reported the same gaps for two consecutive quarters.
A single-market team with one engine and one owner may need only a documented monthly panel and a US$29 to US$99 subscription. Whichever route you take, do not select from this comparison alone. Ask the final two vendors to run your frozen panel, export the raw answers and name their failure condition in writing, then trust the evidence you can re-open over the score anyone assigns.
Frequently asked questions
How do I choose an AI visibility tool?
Choose an AI visibility tool by scoring seven criteria: engine coverage at the quoted tier, runs per question per engine, raw-answer export, billing unit, access control, who executes fixes and the written failure condition. Run one frozen panel through every shortlisted tool and compare exported answers rather than dashboards.
What should an enterprise team check before buying a GEO platform?
An enterprise team should check four contract items before buying a GEO platform: the tier that carries SSO and role-based access, the billing unit, the raw-answer export format and the renewal price at full panel size. Feature grids rarely decide an enterprise selection; contract terms do.
Can an AI visibility tool guarantee that ChatGPT recommends my brand?
No. A tool can guarantee sampling, reporting and evidence retention, but no vendor controls how an independent model answers every question. Treat a guaranteed-recommendation claim as a reason to ask for the measurement protocol.
How much does an AI visibility tool cost in 2026?
Published self-serve prices across the 11 platforms in this comparison run from US$29 per month for Otterly.ai Lite with 15 prompts to US$999 per month for Goodie Pro with 250 prompts, reviewed September 23, 2026. Enterprise tiers at Profound, Scrunch AI and AthenaHQ are quoted individually.
Which AI visibility tools cover Chinese AI engines?
Most platforms in this comparison document Western engine coverage, and DeepSeek, Qwen and Doubao coverage was not stated on several pages reviewed on September 23, 2026. Confirm Chinese-engine coverage at the tier being quoted, because it is frequently an add-on or an enterprise-only item. Canlah AI’s standard tracking covers ChatGPT, Gemini, Google AI Overviews and Google AI Mode by tier: Starter covers ChatGPT, Growth adds Google AI Overviews, Full adds Google AI Mode and Gemini. DeepSeek, Qwen and Doubao are not part of it.
Is Canlah AI an AI visibility tool or an agency?
Canlah AI is a managed SEO + GEO agency. It measures a locked buyer-query pool, archives the raw answers, then executes on-site, content and off-site work, which is why it appears here as the managed alternative rather than as a dashboard. After three months of the GEO service, clients can run the work themselves with Canlah All-Stars.
Method and sources
This guide was written from the public pricing, product and help-centre pages of 11 AI visibility platforms, available on September 23, 2026. The comparison is editorial and based on public documentation, not private performance data. The review did not test provider dashboards, run prompts across each claimed engine, audit client work, validate security controls or confirm commercial terms.
- Profound pricing. Trial scope, Enterprise SSO/SAML and SOC 2 statement, seat policy and credit model.
- Scrunch AI pricing. Core prompt and licence counts, Enterprise SSO, API access and site-audit scope.
- AthenaHQ pricing. Credit definition, free-credit tier, Starter add-ons and Enterprise SAML SSO with role-based access.
- Peec AI pricing. Prompt and model limits, SSO and API listings, in-app price rendering.
- Otterly.ai pricing. Prompt tiers, engine add-ons and seat policy.
- Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit. Price, daily prompt limits and per-licence charges.
- Ahrefs Brand Radar. Check packages, prompt limits and per-user pricing.
- Rankscale pricing. Credit tiers, Enterprise credit volume and seat policy.
- Goodie pricing. Core and Pro prompt counts, seat limits and Agency Growth workspaces.
- Evertune. Prompt volume, model count and bundled content.
- LLMrefs pricing. Single-plan price, prompt allowance and seat policy.
- Canlah AI pricing and AI info. GEO service tiers priced per AI platform, the free AI visibility report, DeepAudit and managed-programme scope.
- Canlah AI self-audit export, September 7, 2026, internal and not independently audited. Mention counts, cited domains and probe method.
- Canlah AI seven-engine source-overlap test, August 2026. Cross-engine source-set overlap.
See where your brand stands in AI answers. Run the free AI visibility audit →
Related articles
FREE WHITEPAPER
Marketing in the Agent Era
All 13 chapters public — no email wall. Includes an original dataset on the agent-readiness of 50 cross-border DTC brands.
Read it free →